About this book

Written in the tradition of H. P. Lovecraft, Edgar Allan Poe, Robert W. Chambers, and other classic authors, David Barker’s chilling new collection of enchanting horror fiction explores what happens when common, unremarkable people encounter “The Other” in the form of dark spirits, mysterious entities from Outside space and time, and paranormal beings from alternate dimensions. The title story “Her Wan Embrace” is part of a trilogy of tales set in Victorian Paris that tell of one man’s feverish battle against a horrific supernatural creature that has invaded his home in the historic Place des Vosges and is enslaving the minds and bodies of his wife and young children. He is about to give up all hope when the beautiful and ethereal Azrael – half angel, half ghoul – steps out from the shadows in an ancient church and begins to teach him how to defend himself against “La Limace” – the notorious monster the Parisian occultists call the Great Slug. Other tales and poems reveal shocking scenes of unutterable terror in the South Seas, Egypt, Lovecraft’s Arkham and Innsmouth, Chamber’s Carcosa, and elsewhere. Critics have expressed high praise for the three Lovecraftian books that Barker wrote in collaboration with the late W. H. Pugmire. In this stand alone collection, Barker proves he is a force to be reckoned with in the field of weird literature.

 

PRAISE FOR DAVID BARKER AND W. H. PUGMIRE’S THE REVENANT OF REBECCA PASCAL

“… a masterpiece of modern literature, that ranks right up there with some of the best books I have ever read.”

Peter Schwotzer

“… no one creates cosmic horror more satisfying than the authors of this new novella.”

J. L. Comeau

“… an enthralling and atmospheric tale of mystery and the uncanny.”

Jeffrey Thomas

“… a pitch-perfect evocation of haunted Arkham and its arts scene, dark and otherwise.”

Ann K. Schwader

“… eerie landscape; odd, idiosyncratic, and distinctly weird characters; eldritch events … carefully modulated and almost flawlessly executed tone.”

Michael R. Collings

“… an engaging entertainment—a clever and evocative adaptation of some of the basic themes running through Lovecraft’s work.”

S. T. Joshi

“… one of the best Lovecraftian stories ever written … one of the best weird fiction novellas of the year and … one of the most terrifying cosmic horror novellas ever published.”

Seregil of Rhiminee

 

PRAISE FOR BARKER AND PUGMIRE’S IN THE GULFS OF DREAM AND OTHER LOVECRAFTIAN TALES:

“Every reader of Lovecraftian or weird fiction should look forward to more tales from their pens, singly or jointly.”

S. T. Joshi

“Barker and Pugmire have written another classic tome of Lovecraftian horror … The tales are born of ancient and obscure terrors, of unholy and obscene nightmares from the depths of timeless suffering and dread.”

Jordan Hofer

 

PRAISE FOR BARKER AND PUGMIRE’S WITCHES IN DREAMLAND

“Riddled with associations from the dream world fantasies of H.P. Lovecraft, this wispy fantasy adventure from Barker and Pugmire … advances two intersecting plot lines through the magical ‘dreamland of witchery’ …  the authors show a fecundity of imagination in their portrayal of differing dream realms and their overlap with waking reality.”

Publisher’s Weekly

 

PRAISE FOR DAVID BARKER’S HALF IN LIGHT, HALF IN SHADOW

“David’s everyman alter egos slip from the dreary world of nine-to-five office jobs to a fiendish realm of restless spirits and uncanny horrors that lurk much closer to our workaday existence than most of us care to admit.”

Adam Bolivar

 

PRAISE FOR DAVID BARKER

“… the voice of an abomination. David Barker becomes a creature bred of horror. The voice of the prose is quintessential Lovecraft.”

Jordan Hofer

“David Barker is obviously a veteran storyteller.”

David Anderson

“David Barker’s ‘The Recluse’ is a captivating pastiche of Lovecraft.”

Ross E. Lockhart

Special note: International customers: If you order a book in stock, and a preorder book at the same time, your books will have to be combined in one shipment when the preorder book is in stock, and shipped at the same time. This is unavoidable delay because of the expense of International shipping. Thank you for your understanding.

Comments are closed.